Text Size

The Lotterys Plus One by Emma Donoghue

The Lotterys Plus One (New York: Arthur Levine Books; Toronto: HarperCollins Children’s Books; London: Macmillan Children’s Books, 2017. With illustrations by Caroline Hadilaksono). The first in a series of novels aimed at readers aged eight to twelve. The Lotterys Plus One introduces readers to nine-year-old Sumac Lottery and her six siblings, four parents and five pets. This chaotic, happy household is disrupted when a grandfather with dementia suddenly has to move in.

A personal note: The Lotterys series draws on my nostalgic memories of growing up as the youngest of eight in 1970s Ireland, as well as my wishful thinking about what it might be like to homeschool a brood of seven in 2010s Toronto. It's been a real joy to move into writing for young readers, especially as my royalties from this project go to Room to Read, a nonprofit working in literacy and girls' education across communities in Asia and Africa. To see how much has been raised so far, please go to http://roomtoread.kintera.org/Canada/EmmaDonoghue


To buy The Lotterys Plus One

In hardcover, USA: https://store.scholastic.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/en/SearchCmd?storeId=11301&langId=-11301&catalogId=16551&N=4502+4519&isbn13=9780545925815

On audio, USA: https://store.scholastic.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/en/SearchCmd?storeId=11301&langId=-11301&catalogId=16551&N=4502+4519&isbn13=9781338119664

In hardback in Canada: http://www.harpercollins.ca/9781443445573/the-lotterys-plus-one

In hardback in the UK/Ireland/'Commonwealth' territories: https://www.panmacmillan.com/authors/emma-donoghue/the-lotterys-plus-one

On audio in the UK/Ireland/'Commonwealth' territories: http://www.audible.com/pd/Kids/The-Lotterys-Plus-One-Audiobook/B06XVYDKXJ/ref=a_search_c4_1_2_srTtl?qid=1491472391&sr=1-2



The Lotterys Plus One is forthcoming in French (Canada).



'Donoghue’s delightful new middle-grade novel… Fans will recognise not only her gift for representing a child’s point of view, but also her knack for showing how a family, no matter how small or large, develops its own language, even its own culture. … I look forward to re-reading this warm and funny book with my daughters.’ - New York Times

'The chaotic but ever-loving Lottery family is totally engaging, and it is to be hoped Sumac and her brothers and sisters will reappear in further family adventures.The book is entertaining and inventive, full of witty wordplay, and a treat for readers of almost any age. And as a bonus, it is charmingly illustrated.' - London Free Press

‘One of the most diverse families readers are likely to meet… In a drily funny story about adjusting to new situations, Donoghue vividly captures the Lotterys’ chaotic but always loving home in a flurry of inside jokes, banter and nicknames.’ – Publishers Weekly (starred review)

‘Most refreshing is that the Lotterys’ many differences, from 10-year-old Aspen's challenges to toddler Oak's developmental delays, are simply part of their own normal. Full of clever names and wordplay, this engaging tale is moving without veering into sentimentality. For all the Lotterys’ apparent eccentricity, the novel delves into universal themes of family relationships that will resonate with readers from all backgrounds.’ – Kirkus Reviews

‘Through all the colourful jumble of Camelottery, the family’s idiosyncratic portmanteaus, and the individualistic lifestyles, Donoghue zeroes in on the vivid, dynamic characters, who patiently and supportively deal with realistic conflicts and accommodate, sometimes reluctantly, different perspectives. This openhearted novel demonstrates that, even if a family looks unusual to some, love and acceptance is universal.’ - Booklist


Watch the trailer for The Lotterys Plus One:


Read the first chapter of the book for free here:





'Emma Donoghue Helps Kids Deal With Dementia (And Still Has Fun) in The Lotterys', interview by Rachel Martin, NPR, 27 March 2017,



Interview by Tom Power on Q, 'http://www.cbc.ca/radio/q/wednesday-april-5-2017-emma-donoghue-peter-silberman-and-more-1.4053188/how-a-dinner-party-challenge-led-emma-donoghue-to-her-first-children-s-book-1.4054312